Face ID from Apple is not enough to make you feel secure especially when you are using your iPhone or an iPad. First, to unlock your device, you need to run a quick face or fingerprint scan to allow you to access your gadget. However, it does not fully guarantee you that no one could use your iPad by entering a password.

Although you already locked your device, other users could still access your apps without you knowing. Since you do not want that to happen, here are the three settings that you can change so the outsiders wouldn’t be granted even the slightest access to your iPhone or iPad.

Stop Flashing Notifications on Your Lock Screen

Face ID: Apple's Touch ID is Not Enough To Secure Your iPhone, iPad--Here Are the Three Settings to Change to Lock Down Your Device

(Photo : Paul Hoenhorst from Unsplash)
You can try to change these three settings to secure your iPhone or iPad with a Face ID access.

According to Ikream’s report last month, if you are experiencing problems in using the Touch ID, this could be the iOS 13 glitch that emerges after you update your device.

Since unknown persons could take control of your device, you could begin by never revealing the notification contents on your iPhone’s lock screen. You will instead be notified about the alert if there is a notification that will come out and that’s the only time that you could open it.

It’s good to prevent intruders from accessing your important messages and emails on your device. To do that, go to your iPhone’s settings, click Notifications, then tap Show Previews. Then, you can now select either from Never or When Unlocked.

Read Also: Apple Sued for ‘Overcharging’ 20 Million UK iPhone, iPad Users–30% Fee is ‘Excessive’ and ‘Unlawful’

Restrict Using Contents on Your iPhone or iPad During the Locked Mode

Accessing contents on your device when locked is possible. You could simply head to the Settings, select Face ID/Touch ID and your password. After entering the code, you could now go to the section named Allow Access When Locked. That’s pretty simple if you want to do something while in locked mode.

Features like Today View and Siri are accessible, especially in the said mode. It depends on the user if he/she wants to adopt the changes in his/her device. There are cases that your iPhone needs to be fully locked–since your personal information is always at risk of getting exposed and retrieved.

The solution is easy for this one: turning off all the features. The access could also be crucial to someone who uses Home Control since he/she could gain access to your smart home devices. However, before someone unlocks it, there’s a short authentication that needs to be bypassed.

Erase Data

According to CNET’s report, this technique could be your go-to option if you already have backup storage for your data in your iPad or iPhone. Erasing your data is an effective way to bar other users from accessing your device.

To begin, select Settings, Face ID/Touch ID then enter your password. Next, scroll at the lowest part of the page and it will direct you to slide the switch which will tell you to Erase Data.

If you enable this feature, a person who continuously enters your passcode incorrectly could end up frustrated after 10 tries. The automatic factory reset will do the job for you.

After several failed log-in attempts, your iPhone will tell you that the user could access the device again after a few minutes. The worst duration that he/she could reach is nearly two hours, and that’s the time that the erase feature will be activated. Enabling the Find My Feature would help you retrieve your device in case it gets lost.

Related Article: Apple iPhone 13 Rumors Leaks ‘Under-Display’ Touch ID, the ‘Fingerprint Under Glass’ Feature

This article is owned by Tech Times

Written by Joseph Henry

ⓒ 2021 TECHTIMES.com All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.



TechTimes

Share.

Leave A Reply